8.3.2012

LYTTELTON/MT HERBERT COMMUNITY BOARD 31 JANUARY 2012

Minutes of a meeting of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board held on Tuesday 31 January 2012 at 12.30pm in the Harbour View Lounge, Living Springs Conference Centre, 218 Bamfords Road, Allandale.

- **PRESENT:** Paula Smith (Chairperson), Jeremy Agar, Ann Jolliffe, Claudia Reid, Andrew Turner and Adrian Te Patu.
- **KARAKIA:** Adrian Te Patu gave the opening karakia.

The Board reports that:

PART B - REPORTS FOR INFORMATION

1. DEPUTATIONS BY APPOINTMENT

Nil.

2. CORRESPONDENCE

Nil.

3. PETITIONS

Nil.

4. NOTICES OF MOTION

Nil.

5. BRIEFINGS

Nil.

6. COMMUNITY BOARD ADVISER'S UPDATE

Nil.

7. BOARD MEMBERS' INFORMATION EXCHANGE

Specific mention was made of the following matters:

Loss of Facilities in Lyttelton

Members discussed the loss of significant community facilities in Lyttelton, which they believed was now having an affect on the wellbeing of Lyttelton residents and community groups. The loss of facilities such as the Lyttelton Recreation Centre, the swimming pool, meeting venues and churches had made it difficult for community groups to meet and carry out their activities.

8.3.2012

Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board 31.1.2012

- 2 -

7 Cont'd

The Board **decided** to ask staff to consider the wider community when investigating alternative facilities for Council purposes, so that any temporary medium term facility could be used by both the Council and the community.

Port Levy Jetty

Members were informed that a damaged part of the Port Levy jetty had been cordoned off but that it was still open for public use.

The Board **decided** to request that when staff were considering repairs to jetties and wharves in harbour communities, that local residents be consulted, as many people had indicated a willingness to voluntarily assist with work on harbour structures.

PART C - REPORT ON DELEGATED DECISIONS

8. CONFIRMATION OF MEETING MINUTES

The Board **resolved** that the minutes of its meetings held on Tuesday 29 November 2011 and Tuesday 13 December 2011 be confirmed.

The meeting concluded at 1.15pm.

CONFIRMED THIS 14TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2012.

PAULA SMITH CHAIRPERSON